List of Counties in Connecticut

CT flag

The 7 Principles
The Seven Principles of "Leave No Trace" provide an easily understood framework of minimum impact practices for anyone visiting the outdoors. Although Leave No Trace has its roots in backcountry settings, the Principles have been adapted so that they can be applied anywhere — from remote wilderness areas, to local parks and even in your own backyard.


Towns | Counties | Home | Points of Interest

CT state usa

8 Counties in Connecticut

Unlike most other states, Connecticut does not have county government. Connecticut county governments were mostly eliminated in 1960, with the exception of the sheriff system. In 2000, the county sheriff was abolished and replaced with the state marshal system, which has districts that follow the old county territories. The judicial system is divided, at the trial court level, into judicial districts which largely follow the old county lines. The eight counties are still widely used for purely geographical and statistical purposes, such as weather reports, and census reporting.

  1. Fairfield County

  2. Hartford County

  3. Litchfield County

  4. Middlesex County

  5. New Haven County

  6. New London County

  7. Tolland County

  8. Windham County

Towns | Counties | Home | Points of Interest