State of Iowa

IA flag

The 7 Principles
The Seven Principles of "Leave No Trace" provide an easily understood framework of minimum impact practices for anyone visiting the outdoors. Although Leave No Trace has its roots in backcountry settings, the Principles have been adapted so that they can be applied anywhere — from remote wilderness areas, to local parks and even in your own backyard.


Tap the red

Towns | Counties | Home | Points of Interest

IA state usa

10 Largest Cities in Iowa

Iowa State Facts

  • List of Counties

  • List of Towns

  • Points of Interest

  • Capital: Des Moines

  • Largest city: Des Moines

  • Highest point: Hawkeye Point, 1,671 ft

  • Lowest point: Confluence of Mississippi River and Des Moines River, 480 ft

  • Admission to Union: December 28, 1846 (29th)

Iowa state seal

Iowa State Information

  • Iowa name is from the Ioway people, one of the American Indian tribes

  • Iowa has been listed as one of the safest states to live

  • Iowa has No NFL, MLB, NBA, WNBA, MLS, or NHL teams

  • The Hobo Museum at Britt, IA

  • Manson Crater meteorite

  • Iowa is the only state whose east and west borders are formed entirely by rivers.

  • The future birthplace of James T. Kirk, captain of the Star Trek series' Enterprise spaceship.

Iowa Points of Interest

Iowa Points of Interest

Points of Interest of Iowa, Things To Do, Places To Go, People To Meet

Iowa State Counties

99 Counties in Iowa

  1. Adair County

  2. Adams County

  3. Allamakee County

  4. Appanoose County

  5. Audubon County

  6. Benton County

  7. Black Hawk County

  8. Boone County

  9. Bremer County

  10. Buchanan County

  11. Buena Vista County

  12. Butler County

  13. Calhoun County

  14. Carroll County

  15. Cass County

  16. Cedar County

  17. Cerro Gordo County

  18. Cherokee County

  19. Chickasaw County

  20. Clarke County

  21. Clay County

  22. Clayton County

  23. Clinton County

  24. Crawford County

  25. Dallas County

  26. Davis County

  27. Decatur County

  28. Delaware County

  29. Des Moines County

  30. Dickinson County

  31. Dubuque County

  32. Emmet County

  33. Fayette County

  34. Floyd County

  35. Franklin County

  36. Fremont County

  37. Greene County

  38. Grundy County

  39. Guthrie County

  40. Hamilton County

  41. Hancock County

  42. Hardin County

  43. Harrison County

  44. Henry County

  45. Howard County

  46. Humboldt County

  47. Ida County

  48. Iowa County

  49. Jackson County

  50. Jasper County

  51. Jefferson County

  52. Johnson County

  53. Jones County

  54. Keokuk County

  55. Kossuth County

  56. Lee County

  57. Linn County

  58. Louisa County

  59. Lucas County

  60. Lyon County

  61. Madison County

  62. Mahaska County

  63. Marion County

  64. Marshall County

  65. Mills County

  66. Mitchell County

  67. Monona County

  68. Monroe County

  69. Montgomery County

  70. Muscatine County

  71. O'Brien County

  72. Osceola County

  73. Page County

  74. Palo Alto County

  75. Plymouth County

  76. Pocahontas County

  77. Polk County

  78. Pottawattamie County

  79. Poweshiek County

  80. Ringgold County

  81. Sac County

  82. Scott County

  83. Shelby County

  84. Sioux County

  85. Story County

  86. Tama County

  87. Taylor County

  88. Union County

  89. Van Buren County

  90. Wapello County

  91. Warren County

  92. Washington County

  93. Wayne County

  94. Webster County

  95. Winnebago County

  96. Winneshiek County

  97. Woodbury County

  98. Worth County

  99. Wright County

Our Story

The state of Iowa is located in the Midwestern United States region, often times known as the “American Heartland”. The name comes from the loway people, which is just one of the several American Indian tribes who inhabited the state during the era of exploration by the Europeans. Once the Louisiana Purchase was made, the local settlers began laying the foundation to an agriculturally based economy, which is located in the middle of the regarded Corn Belt. Iowa is also referred to as the “Food Capital of the World” even though the overall culture, landscape and economy is much more diverse than food production and harvesting.

Later in the 20th century, Iowa began shifting its primarily based agricultural economy to a more diverse economy centered upon advanced manufacturing and processing, biotechnology, financial services, and more recently green energy production. Iowa is ranked as 26th in terms of population which is just over 3 million people, and is the 26th ranked most extensive state in the country with roughly 56,276 square miles of land area.

Iowa is relatively a flat state in terms of its geography, with its highest point of elevation reaching only 1,671 feet above sea level, and its lowest point at 1,100 ft above sea level which is not much more than a 500ft difference. Several major rivers run through the state including the Mississippi Rover, Missouri River, Des Moines River, Iowa River, and Cedar River. Some of Iowas major cities besides its capital Des Moines include Cedar Rapids, Sioux City, Davenport, Waterloo, Iowa City, and Council Bluffs.

The state bird in Iowa is recognized as the Eastern Goldfinch, also called the Wild Canary. The state flower is the Wold Rose while the state tree is the Oak tree. The state also has 99 counties, 10 state forests, and 84 state parks or recreational areas constituting of 53,000 acres. The 31st president of the United States, Herbert C. Hoover was born in West Branch Iowa in 1874 and served in office from 1929 to 1933. Overall Iowa is widely regarded as one of the countries top agricultural states and continue to help the United States be one of the top agricultural countries in the world.

Towns | Counties | Home | Points of Interest

back to top