State of Kansas

KS flag

The 7 Principles
The Seven Principles of "Leave No Trace" provide an easily understood framework of minimum impact practices for anyone visiting the outdoors. Although Leave No Trace has its roots in backcountry settings, the Principles have been adapted so that they can be applied anywhere — from remote wilderness areas, to local parks and even in your own backyard.


Tap the red

Towns | Counties | Home | Points of Interest

KS state usa

10 Largest Cities in Kansas

Kansas State Facts

  • List of Counties

  • List of Towns

  • Points of Interest

  • Capital: Topeka

  • Largest city: Wichita

  • Highest point: Mount Sunflower, 4,041 ft

  • Lowest point: Verdigris River at Oklahoma border, 679 ft

  • Admission to Union: January 29, 1861 (34th)

Kansas state seal

Kansas State Information

  • The geographic center of the 48 contiguous states is located in Smith County near Lebanon, KS

  • Kansas has not elected a Democrat to the U.S. Senate since 1932

  • The Wizard of Oz Museum in Wamego features Dorothy's House

  • Kansas was secured by the United States as part of the Louisiana Purchase

  • There are no franchises of the four major professional sports within the state

  • If two trains meet on the same track, neither shall proceed until the other has passed.

  • Hitting a vending machine that stole your money is illegal.

  • A state law in Kansas prevents screeching your tires. And there are local ordinances to back this law up. For example, in Derby, it is illegal to accelerate your car, or turn a corner in such a way that it causes your car tires to screech. The penalty is a fine up to $500 and/or imprisonment up to 30 days. Source: CNBC

Kansas Points of Interest

Kansas Points of Interest

Points of Interest of Kansas, Things To Do, Places To Go, People To Meet

Kansas State Counties

105 Counties in Kansas

  1. Allen County

  2. Anderson County

  3. Atchison County

  4. Barber County

  5. Barton County

  6. Bourbon County

  7. Brown County

  8. Butler County

  9. Chase County

  10. Chautauqua County

  11. Cherokee County

  12. Cheyenne County

  13. Clark County

  14. Clay County

  15. Cloud County

  16. Coffey County

  17. Comanche County

  18. Cowley County

  19. Crawford County

  20. Decatur County

  21. Dickinson County

  22. Doniphan County

  23. Douglas County

  24. Edwards County

  25. Elk County

  26. Ellis County

  27. Ellsworth County

  28. Finney County

  29. Ford County

  30. Franklin County

  31. Geary County

  32. Gove County

  33. Graham County

  34. Grant County

  35. Gray County

  36. Greeley County

  37. Greenwood County

  38. Hamilton County

  39. Harper County

  40. Harvey County

  41. Haskell County

  42. Hodgeman County

  43. Jackson County

  44. Jefferson County

  45. Jewell County

  46. Johnson County

  47. Kearny County

  48. Kingman County

  49. Kiowa County

  50. Labette County

  51. Lane County

  52. Leavenworth County

  53. Lincoln County

  54. Linn County

  55. Logan County

  56. Lyon County

  57. Marion County

  58. Marshall County

  59. McPherson County

  60. Meade County

  61. Miami County

  62. Mitchell County

  63. Montgomery County

  64. Morris County

  65. Morton County

  66. Nemaha County

  67. Neosho County

  68. Ness County

  69. Norton County

  70. Osage County

  71. Osborne County

  72. Ottawa County

  73. Pawnee County

  74. Phillips County

  75. Pottawatomie County

  76. Pratt County

  77. Rawlins County

  78. Reno County

  79. Republic County

  80. Rice County

  81. Riley County

  82. Rooks County

  83. Rush County

  84. Russell County

  85. Saline County

  86. Scott County

  87. Sedgwick County

  88. Seward County

  89. Shawnee County

  90. Sheridan County

  91. Sherman County

  92. Smith County

  93. Stafford County

  94. Stanton County

  95. Stevens County

  96. Sumner County

  97. Thomas County

  98. Trego County

  99. Wabaunsee County

  100. Wallace County

  101. Washington County

  102. Wichita County

  103. Wilson County

  104. Woodson County

  105. Wyandotte County

Our Story

Kansas is located in the Midwest region of the U.S. and is well known for it's vicious weather, particularly the many tornadoes that touch down in the state each year. The state was named after the Kansas River which runs through the state, and that was in turn named by the Kansa tribe which was a Native American tribe.

In early times far before the U.S. Existed, the region known as Kansas today was inhabited by many diverse Native American Tribes. The eastern part of this region was home to tribes who typically lived in villages which were constructed along the river valleys. In the western part of the region, tribes we semi-nomadic and were known to hunt bison. Kansas however was first settled by European Americans during the 1830s. During the 1850's things began to intensify during the wars over slavery. Kansas was officially opened for settlement by the government of the United States in 1854, and at that time pro-slavery settlers from the nearby state of Missouri immediately rushed into the region to dictate if Kansas would become a free or slave state. This made the region a hot point for violence during its early days when these forces collided and gave Kansas the nickname “Bleeding Kansas”. Eventually, Kansas became a free state and entered the union. When the Civil War was over the states population began to rapidly climb as immigrants began to come in waves and transformed the prairie into farm territory.

Today, the state of Kansas is one of the top state in terms of agricultural productivity. High amounts of wheat, sunflowers, and sorghum and harvested in the state each year. Kansas is the ranked as the 15th most extensive state and is also the 33rd ranked state in terms of population. The state capital is Wichita and the state covers an area of roughly 82,282 square miles of land. The state nickname is the “Sunflower State” while the state song is “Home on the Range”. The state bird is the Western Meadowlark, the state animal is the Buffalo, the state flower is the Sunflower, and the state tree is the Cottonwood tree. Overall Kansas is one of the backbone states in the U.S. when it comes to agriculture, and it continues to contribute a large percentage of its land area to further help the countries agricultural system.

Historically, the area was home to large numbers of nomadic Native Americans who hunted bison. It was first settled by European Americans in the 1830s