Commonwealth of Kentucky

KY flag

The 7 Principles
The Seven Principles of "Leave No Trace" provide an easily understood framework of minimum impact practices for anyone visiting the outdoors. Although Leave No Trace has its roots in backcountry settings, the Principles have been adapted so that they can be applied anywhere — from remote wilderness areas, to local parks and even in your own backyard.


Tap the red

Towns | Counties | Home | Points of Interest

KY state usa

10 Largest Cities in Kentucky

Kentucky State Facts

  • List of Counties

  • List of Towns

  • Points of Interest

  • Capital: Frankfort

  • Largest city: Louisville

  • Highest point: Black Mountain, 4,145 ft (1263 m)

  • Lowest point: Mississippi River at Kentucky Bend, 257 ft

  • Admission to Union: June 1, 1792 (15th)

Kentucky state seal

Kentucky State Information

  • In Bourbon County, an early distiller named Jacob Spears is credited with being the first to label his product as Bourbon whiskey

  • The biggest day in American horse racing, the Kentucky Derby, is preceded by the two-week Derby Festival in Louisville

  • Elizabethtown, known for its proximity to Fort Knoxand the nation’s gold bullion depository

  • Kentucky has more navigable miles of water than any other state in the union, other than Alaska

  • Cumberland Gap, chief passageway through the Appalachian Mountains in early American history

  • Abraham Lincoln Birthplace near Hodgenville

  • Kentucky is the only state outside of the first 13 that uses "Commonwealth" in its name

  • Before statehood Kentucky was Kentucky County, Virginia. Commonwealth of Kentucky

Kentucky Points of Interest

Kentucky Points of Interest

Points of Interest of Kentucky, Things To Do, Places To Go, People To Meet

Kentucky State Counties

120 Counties in Kentucky

  1. Adair County

  2. Allen County

  3. Anderson County

  4. Ballard County

  5. Barren County

  6. Bath County

  7. Bell County

  8. Boone County

  9. Bourbon County

  10. Boyd County

  11. Boyle County

  12. Bracken County

  13. Breathitt County

  14. Breckinridge County

  15. Bullitt County

  16. Butler County

  17. Caldwell County

  18. Calloway County

  19. Campbell County

  20. Carlisle County

  21. Carroll County

  22. Carter County

  23. Casey County

  24. Christian County

  25. Clark County

  26. Clay County

  27. Clinton County

  28. Crittenden County

  29. Cumberland County

  30. Daviess County

  31. Edmonson County

  32. Elliott County

  33. Estill County

  34. Fayette County

  35. Fleming County

  36. Floyd County

  37. Franklin County

  38. Fulton County

  39. Gallatin County

  40. Garrard County

  41. Grant County

  42. Graves County

  43. Grayson County

  44. Green County

  45. Greenup County

  46. Hancock County

  47. Hardin County

  48. Harlan County

  49. Harrison County

  50. Hart County

  51. Henderson County

  52. Henry County

  53. Hickman County

  54. Hopkins County

  55. Jackson County

  56. Jefferson County

  57. Jessamine County

  58. Johnson County

  59. Kenton County

  60. Knott County

  61. Knox County

  62. Larue County

  63. Laurel County

  64. Lawrence County

  65. Lee County

  66. Leslie County

  67. Letcher County

  68. Lewis County

  69. Lincoln County

  70. Livingston County

  71. Logan County

  72. Lyon County

  73. Madison County

  74. Magoffin County

  75. Marion County

  76. Marshall County

  77. Martin County

  78. Mason County

  79. McCracken County

  80. McCreary County

  81. McLean County

  82. Meade County

  83. Menifee County

  84. Mercer County

  85. Metcalfe County

  86. Monroe County

  87. Montgomery County

  88. Morgan County

  89. Muhlenberg County

  90. Nelson County

  91. Nicholas County

  92. Ohio County

  93. Oldham County

  94. Owen County

  95. Owsley County

  96. endleton County

  97. Perry County

  98. Pike County

  99. Powell County

  100. Pulaski County

  101. Robertson County

  102. Rockcastle County

  103. Rowan County

  104. Russell County

  105. Scott County

  106. Shelby County

  107. Simpson County

  108. Spencer County

  109. Taylor County

  110. Todd County

  111. Trigg County

  112. Trimble County

  113. Union County

  114. Warren County

  115. Washington County

  116. Wayne County

  117. Webster County

  118. Whitley County

  119. Wolfe County

  120. Woodford County

Our Story

Kentucky is located in the eastern central region of the U.S. And is one of four states that are constituted as a commonwealth. The state was actually originally a part of Virginia, but in 1792 it became the 15th state admitted to the union. Kentucky is the 37th ranked most extensive state in the country, covering roughly 40,400 square miles and is the 26th ranked state in terms of population with roughly 4.4 million people in the state.

Kentucky has been nicknamed the “Bluegrass State” since bluegrass is found in many regions throughout the entire state due to the very fertile soil prevalent in these areas. This in turn led to high quality live stock breeding. The overall geography of the state is mixed and is made up of various environments and several abundant resources. Mammoth Cave National Park, the longest cave system in the entire world is located in Kentucky as well as the longest amount of navigable inland waterways. Kentucky is also home to the two biggest man made lakes on the east side of the Mississippi River. The state has a high population of wildlife, particularly turkey and deer along with the largest free ranging herd of elk east of the state of Montana. Other well known attributes to Kentucky include horse racing, college basketball, bourbon distilleries, automobile manufacturing, bluegrass music, and tobacco.

Many of the state borders of Kentucky are based on the paths of rivers as they existed when the state was admitted to the union in 1792. In many of these areas the rivers have changed course away from where the original border used to be. The climate in Kentucky is considered to be humid subtropical, as the state experiences all four seasons and a variety of various weather patterns.

Kentucky shares the state bird with a few other states as the Cardinal. The wild animal of the state is the gray squirrel while the state horse is recognized as the Thoroughbred. The state fish is the Kentucky Bass while the state flower is the Goldenrod and the state tree is the Tulip tree. Kentucky is also home to several big lakes such as Lake Cumberland, Kentucky Lake, and Lake Barkley. Kentucky played a major role in its early times in the formation of the United States and continues to play a major role with the wide variety of agriculture and industry within the state.

Towns | Counties | Home | Points of Interest

back to top