State of
North Dakota

ND flag

USA travel and tourism


Tap the red

Towns | Counties | Home | Points of Interest

ND state USA

10 Largest Cities in North Dakota

North Dakota State Facts

  • List of Counties

  • List of Towns

  • Points of Interest

  • Capital: Bismarck

  • Largest city:

  • Highest point: White Butte, 3,508 ft (1069 m)

  • Lowest point: Red River of the North at Manitoba border

  • Admission to Union: November 2, 1889 (39th)

North Dakota seal
North Dakota state seal

North Dakota State Information

  • The Bank of North Dakota is a nonprofit owned by the state. It is the only state-owned bank in the country.

  • Rugby, North Dakota, identifies itself as being the "Geographic Center of the North American Continent"

  • North Dakota has the most churches per capita of any state

  • North Dakota is considered the least visited state, owing, in part, to its not having a major tourist attraction

  • Høstfest in Minot, billed as North America's largest Scandinavian festival

  • Theodore Roosevelt National Park (US National Park Service)

North Dakota Points of Interest

North Dakota Points of Interest

Points of Interest of North Dakota, Things To Do, Places To Go, People To Meet

468 468 468

North Dakota State Counties

53 Counties in North Dakota

  1. Adams County

  2. Barnes County

  3. Benson County

  4. Billings County

  5. Bottineau County

  6. Bowman County

  7. Burke County

  8. Burleigh County

  9. Cass County

  10. Cavalier County

  11. Dickey County

  12. Divide County

  13. Dunn County

  14. Eddy County

  15. Emmons County

  16. Foster County

  17. Golden Valley County

  18. Grand Forks County

  19. Grant Griggs County

  20. Hettinger County

  21. Kidder County

  22. LaMoure County

  23. Logan County

  24. McHenry County

  25. McIntosh County

  26. McKenzie County

  27. McLean County

  28. Mercer County

  29. Morton County

  30. Mountrail County

  31. Nelson County

  32. Oliver County

  33. Pembina County

  34. Pierce County

  35. Ramsey County

  36. Ransom County

  37. Renville County

  38. Richland County

  39. Rolette County

  40. Sargent County

  41. Sheridan County

  42. Sioux County

  43. Slope County

  44. Stark County

  45. Steele County

  46. Stutsman County

  47. Towner County

  48. Traill County

  49. Walsh County

  50. Ward County

  51. Wells County

  52. Williams County

Our Story

  • The state of North Dakota is located within the Midwestern area of the country and is bordered by the Canadian provinces of Saskatchewan and Manitoba to its north, Minnesota to its east, South Dakota on its southern border, and Montana to its west. North Dakota is the 19th ranked most extensive state in the country with a land area of approximately 70,00 square miles. It is also the 4th ranked least densely populated state and the 3rd overall least populated state with a population of roughly 684,000 estimated as of 2011.

  • The capital of North Dakota is the city of Bismarck, however the largest city in the state is the city of Fargo. The state is reported to h ave a very solid economy for the last decade with an average unemployment rate that is lower than the national average. It also has extensive employment opportunities, population growth, and relatively low housing vacancies. Most of the states recent growth can be attributed largely to the establishment of the Bakken oil shale fields located in the western region of the state, however it also experienced rapid expansion in the technology and service industries as well.

  • The geography of the state is largely considered to be Great Plains and is sometimes called the High Plains. The western region of North Dakota largely is made up of the hilly Great Plains as well as some of the Badlands. The highest point of elevation in the state is White Butte which sits roughly 3,506 feet above sea level and is located in the Badlands. The lowest point of elevation in the state is the Red River which is 750 feet above sea level. The states few major lakes are Lake Sakakawea and Lake Ohe, while the major rivers are the James River, Missouri River, and Red River.

  • The state motto is “Liberty and union, now and forever, one and inseparable”. The state bird is the Western Meadowlark, the state fish is the Northern Pike, the state flower is the Wild Prairie Rose, and the state tree is the American Elm tree. North Dakota is a very open, peaceful, and economically stable state that continue to remain a core part of the backbone of the United States.

  • The Missouri River forms Lake Sakakawea, the third largest man-made lake in the US

  • Towns | Counties | Home | Points of Interest

    back to top